Croatia, Netherlands change color in latest Czech Covid-19 travel map

Romania has also been upgraded to medium risk in the latest version of the Health Ministry's travel map, valid from Monday.


Written by ČTK Published on 22.05.2021 09:14:00 (updated on 22.05.2021) Reading time: 2 minutes

Croatia and the Netherlands will move from dark red (very high risk for Covid-19 infection) to red (high risk) on the latest travel map from the Czech Health Ministry, valid as of Monday.

Romania will also be upgraded, moving from red to orange (medium risk). San Marino will go back to red after being orange for a week.

People entering the Czech Republic must take an advance Covid-19 test if they are traveling from dark red countries. A small number of EU countries falls into this category, and most countries outside the EU, including Britain.

For those coming from red and orange countries, a test before travel is required only from people who use public transport to travel to the Czech Republic.

Those traveling from red countries must also take a PCR test five days after their arrival at the latest. Until then, they must stay in quarantine. People coming from dark red, red, and orange countries must wear a respirator anytime they go out, including outdoors, for two weeks.

People who have completed their vaccination in the Czech Republic do not have to take a test or enter quarantine if they are traveling from red or orange countries.

The Czech government also decided on Friday that these requirements would not apply to those who have had the first dose of vaccination at least 22 days prior to traveling.

From Monday, red countries include Andorra, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Denmark, Estonia, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Monaco, the Netherlands, Poland, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain and Switzerland.

Orange countries include Finland, Ireland, Malta, Norway, Portugal, Romania, the Balearic Islands and the Canary Island.

Czech residents still are not allowed to travel to countries with an extreme risk for new variants of coronavirus, which include Botswana, Brazil, Colombia, Eswatini, India, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Nepal, Peru, South Africa,Tanzania, Zambia and Zimbabwe. This ban will expire at the end of May.

None of the above requirements apply to peolpe who travel from green countries with low infection risk. Among European states, only Iceland and the Vatican are currently green. Outside the EU, this group also includes Australia, Israel, New Zealand, Singapore, South Korea and Thailand.

Would you like us to write about your business? Find out more