Covid-19 travel: Czech map unchanged, EU countries ease restrictions

While the Czech Republic's travel map remains unchanged, numerous countries across Europe have begun to ease their entry requirements. Staff

Written by Staff Published on 12.02.2022 09:59:00 (updated on 12.02.2022) Reading time: 3 minutes

Conditions for entering the Czech Republic will remain unchanged from Monday as nearly all European states remain high-risk red-or very high-risk dark red on the latest Covid-19 travel map, released by the Foreign Ministry yesterday.

Tightened entry restrictions for foreigners without a Czech residence permit remain in effect. Outside of the Czech Republic, however, numerous EU countries are beginning to ease their entry requirements.

The Czech Health Ministry updates its travel map every week based on new data published by the European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control.

The Vatican is still the only European state to be listed as low-risk green on the Czech map. Non-European states including Bahrain, Chile, Indonesia, South Korea, Qatar, Colombia, Kuwait, Macao, New Zealand, Peru, Rwanda, Saudi Arabia, the United Arab Emirates, Taiwan, and Uruguay are also listed as low-risk green.

Czech residents without proof of vaccination or recovery coming to the Czech Republic from green countries must take a Covid-19 test within five days following their arrival.

No countries are listed as moderate-risk orange or low-risk red in the latest Czech map, with all countries not mentioned above considered very high-risk dark red.

In Europe, those states includes Andorra, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Denmark, Estonia, France, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Liechtenstein, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Monaco, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Madeira, the Azores, and the Canary and Balearic Islands.

Czech residents without proof of vaccination or recovery coming to the Czech Republic from a dark-red country must take a PCR test between 5-14 days after their return, and wear a respirator outside their home pending the test result. Those using public transport (such as airlines) must also provide a test before entering the Czech Republic from a dark red country.

Czech residents with complete vaccination or proof of recovery from Covid-19 within the past six months are exempt from the above entry conditions.

Upon entering the Czech Republic from all countries, all travelers must submit a passenger locator form unless coming by personal transport such as a car.

Foreign nationals who do not have a Czech residence permit must produce a negative PCR test upon arrival in the Czech Republic, even from green countries. Foreigners with complete vaccination and a booster dose, and children aged 12-18 with complete vaccination (no booster needed), are exempt from this requirement.

Foreign nationals who have not been vaccinated must take another PCR test 5-7 days after their arrival in the Czech Republic, and wear a respirator when outside their residence until the result is known.

The Health Ministry continues to recommend that people avoid non-necessary travel amid the Covid-19 pandemic.

Complete details on entry requirements when traveling to the Czech Republic can be found from the Czech Ministry of the Interior.

Foreign Travel

Yesterday, the United Kingdom eased entry requirements, no longer requiring a Covid test from vaccinated travelers. Heading into next week, a number of other countries have followed suit.

  • France: As of February 12, France no longer requires a Covid test from travelers with proof of vaccination; a booster dose is required from those who were initially vaccinated more than 270 days ago. The country's nightclubs are set to reopen from February 16. More info.

  • Greece: Earlier this week, Greece dropped Covid testing requirements for travelers with a valid EU vaccination certificate. Random tests are still conducted at the country's airports. More info.

  • Portugal: Also valid from earlier this week, Portugal no longer requires a Covid test from fully-vaccinated travelers. More info.

  • Sweden: As of February 9, EU travelers can freely travel to Sweden without restriction; no proof of vaccination or test required. Restrictions still apply to travelers from outside the EU. Last week, Denmark and Norway also eliminated most restrictions for EU travelers. More info.

  • Australia: After nearly two years, Australia will reopen its border to tourist travel from February 21. Full vaccination will required to enter the country. More info.

  • Morocco: Earlier this week, Morocco lifted a ban on tourist travel that had been in place for the past four months. More info.

Note that while some countries are easing their restrictions to enter their territory, airlines may have different requirements to travel. Confirm with your airline before booking a flight or heading out to the airport.

Further information on foreign travel, and entry conditions for all countries worldwide, can be found at the website of the Czech Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

Would you like us to write about your business? Find out more