Denmark, Belgium turn high-risk red in new Czech Covid-19 travel map

Finland, Ireland, Malta and Iceland have also changed color in the latest Czech travel risk map, valid from Monday.


Written by ČTK
Published on 17.04.2021 09:52 (updated on 17.04.2021)

Belgium will be upgraded on the new Czech travel map, moving to the red group of countries with high risk of Covid-19, the Health Ministry has announced. Previously, Belgium was in the dark red group, carrying a "very high" risk.

Denmark, meanwhile, will move from the orange group of moderate risk countries to join Belgium among the red high-risk states when the map takes effect from Monday.

Among other EU members, Finland, Ireland, Malta and Iceland have also changed color on the Czech "traffic light" map.

The higher the risk rating of a foreign country, the more difficult the conditions for Czech residents to return from them.

At present, those returning from a very high risk (dark red) country are required to undergo a Covid-19 test before departure. This category includes a small number of EU states and most countries outside the EU, including the UK.


Family house for rent, 170m<sup>2</sup>, 440m<sup>2</sup> of land

Family house for rent, 170m2, 440m2 of land

Otopašská, Praha 5 - Jinonice

Apartment for rent, 2+kk - 1 bedroom, 54m<sup>2</sup>

Apartment for rent, 2+kk - 1 bedroom, 54m2

Staropramenná, Praha 5 - Smíchov

Apartment for rent, 2+kk - 1 bedroom, 51m<sup>2</sup>

Apartment for rent, 2+kk - 1 bedroom, 51m2

Přístavní, Praha 7 - Holešovice

Apartment for rent, 3+kk - 2 bedrooms, 80m<sup>2</sup>

Apartment for rent, 3+kk - 2 bedrooms, 80m2

Na Klimentce, Praha 6 - Dejvice

Those returning from the dark red countries must also quarantine for at least five days following their arrival, after which they may leave if they test negative.

Those returning from red countries must take a PCR test within five days of their arrival.

Those who return from dark red, red, and orange countries must wear a respirator anytime they go out, including outdoors, for two weeks.

As of Monday, the red group will include Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Germany, Greece, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Monaco, Norway, Romania, Slovakia, Spain, Switzerland and the Canary Islands.

Finland, Ireland, Malta, Portugal and the Balearic Islands are in the orange group.

None of the above requirements apply to people returning from green countries with a low infection risk. Among EU states, those are only the Vatican and now Iceland. This group also includes Australia, New Zealand, Singapore, South Korea and Thailand.

For the past six weeks, Czechs residents have been banned from travelling to countries with an extreme risk of the spread of the South African variant of coronavirus, which includes Botswana, Brazil, Colombia, Eswatini, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Peru, South Africa,Tanzania, Zambia and Zimbabwe. The ban is valid until the end of May.