Travelers from risk countries are now required to complete a Czech Passenger Locator Form

As of this week, a new form is required for passengers who have been in countries not included in the Czech list of safe destinations

Jason Pirodsky

Written by Jason Pirodsky
Published on 22.09.2020 14:00 (updated on 22.09.2020)

The Czech Foreign Ministry has introduced a new requirement for travelers coming in to the country from abroad to fill out a Passenger Locator Form as of Monday, September 21.

The requirement only applies to passengers who have recently stayed in a country that is not included in the Foreign Ministry's list of safe destinations, with some exceptions.

The form is required to be filled out in advance of travel and submitted online; after completing the form, travelers will receive an email with a QR code, which can either be printed out or displayed on a mobile device upon arrival in the Czech Republic.

Only travelers who have stayed in countries that are not included in the Czech Foreign Ministry's list of safe destinations (see below) for more than 12 hours over the past 14 days are required to fill out the form.

Currently, most EU countries (with the exception of Spain) and a small number of states outside the EU are included in the Foreign Ministry's list of safe destinations.

Exceptions to the requirement to fill out the Passenger Locator Form include employees of international transport companies and diplomats and officials from organizations registered with the Czech Foreign Ministry, provided their stay does not exceed 14 days.

Additionally, EU citizens and foreigners with long-term or permanent residence in the EU who are in transit through the Czech Republic (12 hours or less) are not required to fill out the form.

As of September 18, the Czech Republic's official list of safe destinations consists of Andorra, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Canada, Croatia*, Cyprus, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France*, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Iceland, Italy, Japan, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg*, Hungary, Malta*, Monaco, the Netherlands, Norway, New Zealand, Poland, Portugal, Romania*, San Marino, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisia, Sweden, Switzerland, the United Kingdom, and Vatican City.

While included in the list of safe destinations, the Czech Health Ministry advises against unnecessary travel to countries marked with an asterisk (*).

The list is updated each Friday.