France, Spain, and Portugal turn high-risk red on latest Czech travel map

Travelers without proof of vaccination or recovery will face tighter restrictions when traveling from these countries to the Czech Republic from Monday.


Written by ČTK Published on 27.11.2021 09:18:00 (updated on 28.11.2021) Reading time: 2 minutes

France, Spain, Portugal, the Azores, and Monaco will move from medium-risk orange to high-risk red on the latest Covid-19 travel map, the Czech Health Ministry has announced. Travelers without proof of vaccination or recovery coming to the Czech Republic from these countries will face tightened restrictions as of Monday.

Other countries have also changed color on the latest map, but conditions for travelling to the Czech Republic will not be affected.

The Czech Health Ministry updates its travel map every week based on data provided by the European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control.

Combined Covid-19 indicator map. Image: European Centre for Disease Control
Combined Covid-19 indicator map. Image: European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control

From Monday, the only state in Europe listed in low-risk green on the latest Czech map will be the Vatican.

Outside Europe, Argentina, Australia, Bahrain, Hong Kong, Chile, Indonesia, South Korea, Canada, Qatar, Colombia, Kuwait, Macao, New Zealand, Peru, Rwanda, Saudi Arabia, the United Arab Emirates, Taiwan and Uruguay all remain low-risk green.

Italy and Malta will be the only countries listed as medium-risk orange from Monday.

Travelers without proof of vaccination or recovery coming to the Czech Republic from green and orange countries must either provide a negative Covid-19 test before entering the Czech Republic or take an antigen or PCR test within five days of their arrival.

As of Monday, red countries with a high risk of infection will include Finland, France, Cyprus, Monaco, Norway, Portugal, Romania, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, the Canary and Balearic Islands, the Azores, and Madeira.

Luxembourg, Poland, and San Marino will move to the list of dark-red countries with a very high risk of infection from Monday. They join Andorra, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Denmark, Estonia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Netherlands, Slovakia, Slovenia, and all non-EU countries not listed as green.

Travelers without proof of vaccination or recovery arriving from red or dark red countries must take a PCR test between 5-14 days after their arrival. Those using public transport (including airlines) must also provide a negative test before entering the Czech Republic.

Testing requirements do not apply to those who have completed their Covid-19 vaccination, or have a certificate proving that they recovered from Covid-19 in the past 180 days.

All travelers must fill in an arrival form when entering the Czech Republic, regardless of their vaccination status or the color of country they are coming from. 

The Czech Republic accepts the vaccination of those from non-EU countries who were given vaccines approved by the European Medicines Agency, or corresponding vaccines approved by the World Health Organisation for emergency use.

As of today, non-EU citizens who have been in Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, Zambia and Zimbabwe for more than 12 hours over the past 14 days will not be allowed to enter the Czech Republic.

Czech and EU citizens, as well as long-term residents of the Czech Republic, can return from these African countries under strict anti-epidemic restrictions designed to prevent the spread of a new strain of Covid-19 detected in South Africa.

This new measure is valid until December 12. Travelling to these African countries is not recommended.

Would you like us to write about your business? Find out more