Czech government green lights summer travel throughout most of Europe: Which countries made the list?

From June 15, tourists from the Czech Republic will be able to travel to Croatia, Greece, and Bulgaria for a seaside holiday, no coronavirus test required Staff

Written by Staff Published on 02.06.2020 08:00:25 (updated on 02.06.2020) Reading time: 2 minutes

Given the travel restrictions put in place by the Czech government during the coronavirus outbreak this spring, summer travel has for many remained an uncertainty.

The Czech government had good news for tourist hopefuls from the Czech Republic yesterday, announcing a list of countries to which travel will be possible without restriction.

From June 15, tourists from the Czech Republic will be able to travel to Croatia, Greece, and Bulgaria for a seaside holiday, no coronavirus test required. The government has approved an additional list of countries that will receive the green light from mid-June — that list includes neighboring countries — Slovakia, Germany, Austria, and Poland.

While Czechs may travel to most EU countries without limits as of June 15, they will still have to submit a negative COVID-19 test after returning from Britain, Sweden, and other high-risk nations under the new system of safe countries for travel approved by the government Monday, the health minister said.

The system divides the countries into three categories of low, medium, and high risk of coronavirus infection. Czechs will be able to travel without limits to the countries from the first two categories.

Switzerland, Slovenia, Romania, Lithuania, Latvia, Estonia, Finland, Norway, and Iceland are also on the list of countries given the green light for travel by the Czech government.

“I believe that this is another step so that in mid-June we can fully open the borders with selected countries and allow foreign tourists to go to some regions of our country, for example, to support tourism in our country,” Foreign Minister Tomáš Petříček told

Surprisingly, Italy, one of the first major European countries to experience the rapid spread of COVID-19 was listed in the yellow zone. “Italy is no longer one of the riskiest countries,” said Health Minister Adam Vojtech on Monday.

Foreigners entering the Czech Republic will still have to submit COVID-19 test results even if they arrive from medium-risk countries, such as Italy, Spain, France, Belgium, Netherlands, Portugal, and Ireland.

Only citizens or residents from countries on the yellow list will need to submit a COVID-19 test when traveling to the Czech Republic or go into quarantine. Czechs will not need a test when returning from these countries.

Countries outside the European Union have not yet been addressed by the government; this will be a joint decision of the entire European Union.

With regards to foreigners whose country of residence is the Czech Republic, the same rules apply: if you reside in the Czech Republic you can travel under the same conditions as Czechs. On Friday, the government should clarify additional rules for incoming citizens and residents.

Currently, Czech citizens can travel to Slovakia, Austria, and Hungary if they return within 48 hours without needing to present a negative COVID-19 test.

System denoting safe countries for traveling:

Safe countries: Medium-risk countries: High-risk countries:
Bulgaria Belgium Sweden
Estonia Denmark UK
Finland France
Croatia Ireland
Iceland Italy
Cyprus Luxembourg
Liechtenstein Malta
Lithuania Netherlands
Latvia Portugal
Hungary Spain

Source: Foreign Minister Tomas Petricek

For the most recent updates on travel to and from the Czech Republic visit

Would you like us to write about your business? Find out more