Cyprus latest EU state to include Czech Republic among high risk countries, entry prohibited

With some exceptions, anyone who has been in the Czech Republic in the past two weeks is barred from entering Cyprus

Jason Pirodsky

Written by Jason Pirodsky Published on 15.09.2020 13:57:15 (updated on 15.09.2020) Reading time: 1 minute

Cyprus is the latest EU state to include the Czech Republic in its list of nations at risk for the spread of COVID-19, the Cypriot government has decided today, following similar decisions from Slovakia and Denmark.

The Netherlands, Belgium, and Germany, meanwhile, have included Prague among their at-risk areas, but not the entire Czech Republic.

From September 18, Czech residents as well as anyone who has visited the Czech Republic within the past two weeks will be barred from entering Cyprus. This includes those who have only been traveling through the Czech Republic to other destinations.

Previously, entry was possible but only with a negative COVID-19 test, submitted before travelers boarded a plane for Cyprus.

Exceptions to the new regulation include Cypriot citizens and permanent residents, as well as their family members. However, both COVID-19 testing and 14-day quarantine are required upon entry into Cyprus for these groups, regardless of the outcome of testing.

The conditions for entering Cyprus for travelers from the Czech Republic were already strict, but now they are now among the most restrictive in the EU.

The Cypriot Health Ministry has listed both the Czech Republic and Hungary among their Category C countries for COVID-19 risk, indicating the highest risk of infection. Bulgaria, France, Croatia, Spain and the Netherlands have also been listed under Category C.

Previously, the Czech Republic was listed as Category B.

The list of EU countries that restrict travel from the Czech Republic, or only Prague, is quickly growing.

Currently, Belgium, Britain, Cyprus, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Germany, Hungary, Ireland, the Netherlands, Norway, Slovakia, Slovenia and Switzerland all restrict travel from the Czech Republic in some way.

That could mean general (tourist) travel from the Czech Republic is entirely prohibited, in the case of Cyprus, Denmark, and Hungary, or that travelers are required to enter quarantine or provide a negative COVID-19 test upon entry.

Would you like us to write about your business? Find out more