Reunited Rage Against the Machine coming to Prague later this year

Rage Against the Machine will visit Prague near the end of their reunion tour

Raymond Johnston

Written by Raymond Johnston Published on 11.02.2020 12:43:42 (updated on 11.02.2020) Reading time: 2 minutes

American alternative metal band Rage Against the Machine will take its reunion tour to Prague’s O2 Arena on September 8, 2020. Tickets go on sale to Live Nation club members February 12 at 10 am and the general public February 14 at 10 am on the Ticketmaster and Ticketportal networks.

Prague is the penultimate stop on the 40-date Public Service Announcement Tour, and one of only five stops in Continental Europe. The tour begins in El Paso, Texas, at the end of March and warps up two days after the Prague show in Krakow.

All four original members are participating in the reunion: vocalist and lyricist Zack de la Rocha, guitarist Tom Morello, bassist Tim Commerford, and drummer Brad Wilk

Rage Against the Machine’s last live show was in July 2011 in Los Angeles, so news of an extensive was a surprise, though they had announced at the end of November 2019 that they would play the Coachella and Boston Calling festivals.

The group has been active politically, and the proceeds from the first three tour dates will go to immigrant-rights organizations. They will support other causes during the tour.

Both Morello and de la Rocha in interviews have been critical of the capitalist system, but have defended their role in the music industry as a way of getting their message out. Morello in 2007 said that in the US there were two freedoms: “the freedom to enter into a subservient role in the workplace [and] the freedom to starve.”

The band has four studio, two live and one compilation albums. Their second album, Evil Empire, and third album, The Battle of Los Angeles, reached number one in the US charts, and all their studio albums plus one live album are certified at least platinum.

They have not released new material since Renegades in 2000, and that was a cover album with songs written bu Iggy Pop, the Rolling Stones, Bob Dylan, Bruce Springsteen, Mark Mothersbaugh, and others. So far, new newer material has been announced.

The Los Angeles–based band formed in 1991, performing songs with strong political content. They went inactive in 2000, re-formed in 2007 and split again in 2011.

During 2002–06, Morello, Commerford, and Wilk formed Audioslave with Soundgarden singer Chris Cornell, and released three albums.

While the band was on its second hiatus, three same three members — Morello, Commerford, and Wilk — formed the group Prophets of Rage with rappers Chuck D of Public Enemy and B-Real of Cypress Hill. That group was active 2016 –19.

Zack de la Rocha promised a solo album in 2017 but only released the single “Digging for Windows.”

The band has earned two Grammys. The first in 1997 was for Best Metal Performance for the song “Tire Me,” and the second was in 2001 for Best Hard Rock Performance for “Guerrilla Radio.” They also won an NME Award and a Kerrang! Award. Since 2017 they have been eligible for the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame, but have yet to be inducted.

Rap duo Run The Jewels will be the opening act for the entire Public Service Announcement Tour,

Would you like us to write about your business? Find out more