Hungary, Finland darken to high-risk red on Czech Republic's latest Covid travel map

Luxembourg will also move from orange to red on the latest map that governs incoming travel restrictions, valid from Monday.


Written by ČTK Published on 16.10.2021 13:12:00 (updated on 16.10.2021) Reading time: 2 minutes

Travelers without proof of vaccination or recovery coming from Finland, Hungary, and Luxembourg to the Czech Republic will face tightened restrictions as of Monday. These countries will move from medium-risk orange to high-risk red on the latest Czech Covid-19 travel map released by the Health Ministry.

Going the other way, travel from Switzerland to the Czech Republic will be easier for those without proof of vaccination or recovery, as the country will move from red to orange on the latest map.

The Czech Health Ministry updates its map every week based on data provided by the European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control. A visual version of the Czech map has not been released, but generally corresponds with the ECDC map, colored by region.

As of Monday, Italy and Madeira will move to low-risk green on the latest Czech map. In Europe, Liechtenstein, Malta, the Vatican and the Canary Islands are also green; outside Europe, Australia, Hong Kong, Chile, South Korea, Jordan, Canada, Qatar, Kuwait, Macao, New Zealand, Rwanda, Saudi Arabia, United Arab Emirates, Taiwan and Uruguay are considered low risk.

The orange group of medium-risk countries will include Andorra, Denmark, France, Iceland, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, San Marino, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, the Balearic Islands and Azores.

On return from green and orange countries, travelers without proof of vaccination or recovery must either provide a negative Covid-19 test before entering the Czech Republic, or take an antigen or PCR test within five days of their arrival.

From Monday, red countries with a high risk of infection will include Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Finland, Ireland, Germany, Hungary, Luxembourg, Austria, Greece and Slovakia.

Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Romania and Slovenia, as well as all other countries outside the EU not mentioned above, are considered very high-risk, indicated by dark red.

Travelers without proof of vaccination or recovery arriving from red or dark red countries must take a PCR test between 5-14 days after their arrival, and quarantine pending the test result. Those using public transport (including airlines) must also provide a negative test before entering the Czech Republic.

These restrictions do not apply to those with completed Covid-19 vaccination or a certificate proving that they recovered from Covid-19 in the past 180 days.

All travelers must fill in an arrival form when entering the Czech Republic, regardless of their vaccination status or the color of country they are coming from.

The Czech Republic accepts the vaccination of those from non-EU countries who were given vaccines approved by the European Medicines Agency, or corresponding vaccines approved by the World Health Organisation for emergency use.

To enter the Czech Republic, these travelers must have a certificate that can be verified and is included in the list of certificates on the Health Ministry's website.

Would you like us to write about your business? Find out more